Profiles Tab |
The Profiles tab enables you to manage device configurations and push software down to your devices.
In MobiControl, a Profile is a set of configurations and software that affects devices. A profiles can contain Configurations or Packages or both.
Configurations are device settings or accounts that modify the functionality of devices. For example, depending on your platform, in Configurations, you can limit access to certain types of applications, provision security certificates or configure VPN settings among many other settings.
Packages are containers for applications, scripts or files to be installed on your devices. If you need to send an application to these devices, you must first wrap it in a package that tells MobiControl how to install the application onto your devices. MobiControl provides a standalone application, Package Studio, to easily turn your applications into packages compatible with MobiControl.
For more information on packages, see Packages Tab.
Note
Packages are available on the Windows Mobile/CE, Windows Desktop Classic, Windows Modern (Desktop only), Android Plus, Android for Work and Printers platforms.
The Profiles view (tab) is divided into two panels:
The Profiles List panel, in the center, covers the majority of the screen. The Profiles List panel specifies all of the different profiles that you have created and basic information about them such as name and status.
The Profiles Information panel, on the right, is split into several partitions, each of which details a type of information regarding the Profile selected in the Profile List panel.
Profiles can only be created for one platform at a time. Make sure you are on the correct platform tab before starting.
This name and description is visible to the end-user in the Profile catalog.
For more information on a configuration, click the help button within each configurations dialog.
To delete a configuration, click the Actions button in the dialog box and click Delete while the configuration is selected.
If you have chosen a configuration that depends upon another configuration, a warning appears urging you add the required configuration to the profile.
After you have saved or assigned a profile, you can edit, clone, revoke, disable or delete it by selecting the profile from the Profile List panel and clicking the Action dropdown button underneath the Platform tabs.
When you create a profile you must assign it to devices for it to affects them. You can target devices based on their device groups and then refine the target further based on Filter Criteria, LDAP Targets, or Options. Devices must meet criteria in the categories to receive the profile.
See Profile Assignment Options for more information.
If you clicked Save and Assign in the Add Profile dialog box, skip to step 4.
If your profile fails to install across several devices, it may indicate an incorrect configuration or a missing dependency. Edit the profile and assign again. Otherwise, you can retry the profile installation through the Action menu for the Profile. An attempt to reinstall is made on devices where the profile is Failed or Partially Installed.
Note
You can revoke or install the profile on a single device from the Profiles information panel on the Devices tab.
Use Clone a Profile to create a profile that copies all or specific components of an existing profile.
You can set which users or user groups have access to modify an individual profile in MobiControl by editing the profile permissions. You can set permissions for users or user group that exist in Console Security. For more information on security permissions in MobiControl, see Security Tab.
Note
By default, the creator of the profile and the creator's associated console security groups are given read and write access to the profile.
Revoking a profile allows you to deactivate a profile without deleting it completely. It removes the profile from all devices and makes it unavailable to new devices until it is reassigned.
Disabling a profile prevents it from being assigned to new devices. Devices that were previously assigned the profile retain the profile with no changes.
When you are finished with a profile, you can remove it from devices and MobiControl by deleting it.
Note
Packages installed via profiles remain on the device if you unchecked Uninstall package contents upon profile revocation or deletion in the Options tab when you first assigned the profile.
Not all filter criteria are available for all platforms.
| Filter Criteria | Description |
|---|---|
| Device Property | Create filters based on any of the following properties:
|
| Custom Data | Create filters based on custom data reporting. Configure your custom data settings in the Custom Data Manager, found in the Advanced Settings of the right-click menu of the Devices tab. |
| Custom Attribute | Create filters based on custom attributes reporting. Configure your custom attributes settings in the Edit Custom Attributes, found in the Advanced Settings of the right-click menu of the Devices tab. |
| MDM Compatibility | Use the pre-populated list of Android MDM APIs to filter the applicability of the profile |
| Extended Properties (Printer only) |
Create filters based on any of the following properties:
|
You can include or exclude devices based on the associated user's LDAP group membership. From the dropdown, select your LDAP connection and then click Add Group to type in a user group. Click the LDAP group again to exclude the devices where the associated user is a member of the group. If you do not already have LDAP connections set up, you can configure them by clicking Manage LDAP Connections from the bottom of the dropdown. Go to LDAP Connections Manager for more information.
The Options tab contains settings and information on how your profile deploys to a device. Within this tab, you can set:
Profile Installation Method and Schedule
Package Options
|
Store Packages persistently when supported by device |
Packages are stored in the device's persistent storage to be re-deployed after a factory reset or a cold reboot. |
|
Reinstall packages on every update schedule |
Packages reinstall on the device every time the device checks in to the server which is generally according to the update schedule. |
|
Uninstall package contents upon profile revocation or deletion |
Packages (and their contents) are uninstalled from devices after the profile is revoked or deleted. |
Scheduled Actions
You can delay the profile deployment until the device's next update or plan ahead and schedule a date and time for actions such as: